Chilima congratulates fellow VP Ruto for winning Kenya's election

William Ruto

Malawi's Vice President Saulos Chilima through his UTM Party has congratulated Kenya's President elect William Ruto for emerging triumphant in that country's closely contested elections.

Kenya's Deputy President Ruto defied the odds by winning the fiercely contested presidential election with 50.49% of the vote, narrowly defeating veteran opposition leader and former Prime Minister Raila Odinga, who was contesting his fifth election.

In a brief statement, Chilima said: "We the UTM Party join the State President Dr Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera and the people of Malawi in congratulating Dr William Ruto and the entire Kenya Kwanza Alliance for winning the Tuesday, 9th August 2022 elections in the Republic of Kenya.

"We wish our brethren in Kenya peace and prosperity as they look into the future".

Earlier, Chakwera had sent his own congratulatory message before jetting off to the DRC for a SADC summit.

"I warmly congratulate President-Elect William Samoei Ruto of the Republic of Kenya, following his election victory. 

"Malawi stands with the people of Kenya in their aspiration for a peaceful transition & I look forward to working with the new President in taking the solid bilateral ties & intimate cooperation between Malawi and Kenya from strength to strength," he wrote on his Facebook page.

Ruto did not get the support of Kenya's outgoing President Uhuru Kenyatta. 

Kenyatta conceded during the campaign that he had broken a pact to back Ruto in this election and decided instead to back the opposition's Odinga.

He justified it by comparing his deputy to a co-driver who threw things out of a vehicle while the driver was busy steering it.

As far as Ruto is concerned, Mr Kenyatta campaigned for Mr Odinga because he wanted a "puppet president".

He will become Kenya's fifth President since independence, winning the seat on his first attempt. Ruto's party, the Kenya First coalition, has won a majority of seats in Kenya's senate, the second highest in the National Assembly.

Additional content: BBC, CNN