Malawi Sports awards its finest tonight

Sports Awards

A night of glitz and glamour awaits as Malawi's sports finest converge at the Bingu Conference Center in the Lilongwe to award stand out stars of 2020-2022 in 18 categories.

The focus, organisers Malawi Sports Council say, is on awarding athletes who shone the brightest on the international stage for the country.

No wonder on the list for honours are athlete and footballer Asimenye Simwaka boxing champion Ellen Simwaka and footballer Frank Gabadinho Mhango.

For the first time ever, the awards will recognise sports veterans.

Sports Council spokesperson Edgar Ntulumbwa said: "After going through a rigorous process of scrutinising different nominees for the 2022 Malawi National Sport Awards, the Council has come up with the finalist for the 2022 sport awards.

"It should be noted that all process and procedures in coming up with the finalist were followed and different stakeholders and committees at different levels were consulted before the final list.

"All the finalist therefore are invited to attend the event where winners will be announced on the day."

Below is the list of nominees:

Junior Female sportsperson

Veronica Manda

Taonga Kamwendo

Angelina Nyirenda

Junior male sportsperson

Moses Misoya
Brave Chipokosa-
Sean Joseph-Boxing and Kickboxing

Sports administrator of the year

Susan Namangale- Chess Association of Malawi 
James Chiutsi- Malawi Paralympics
Bright Limani-

Non-Citizen sports personality of the year

George Maguire- Ascent Football Academy
Vivek Ganesan- Malawi Cricket Union
Dr. Thulani Maphosa- Technical Director-Wolves Volleyball team; national volleyball team coach 

National team of the year

The Malawi men’s Beach soccer team
The Malawi men’s senior team
The Malawi women’s national football team

Sport woman of the year

Tabitha Chawinga-Football
Ellen Simwaka-Boxing
Asimenye Simwaka-Athletics and Football

Sports man of the year

Gabadihno Mhango
Stanislaus Phiri
Joseph Phiri

Best executed sports development programme

Chess Schools Programme
Para Sport Against Stigma (I’m possible programme)
Ascent Academy grassroot football development program

Sport district of the year


Umpire/ referee/ Judge of the year

Benadetta Kwimbira Mzika
Mercy Kayira
Easter Zimba

Coach of the year

Pachisi Nyasulu-athletics coach for Asimenye 
Enos Chatama-Nyasa Bullets Reserves
Meke Mwase-Malawi Flames

Media house of the year

Times Group
Nation Publication Limited

Sports Association of the year

Kickboxing Association 
Chess Association of Malawi
Malawi paralympic committee

Female veteran of the year

Mary Waya 
Martha Nyekanyeka

Male veteran of the year 

John Maduka
Henry Moyo


The final category of sports person of year (overall winner) will be known at the awards