FDH Bank Cup winner to pocket K25 million

Gunda making the address at FAM

Football Association of Malawi (Fam) has disclosed that the winner of the newly-introduced FDH Bank Challenge Cup will walk away with K25 million.

The runners up will get K8 million.

Addressing the media at Mpira Village in Blantyre on Tuesday, Fam general secretary Alfred Gunda said the inaugural edition of the cup will be played between May and September this year.

The FDH Bank is pumping money to the tune of K90 million.

Gunda said 16 super league teams and 62 regional premier league teams will participate in the competition.

He went on to say that the Cup will be played on knockout basis.

Gunda adds that the top 8 super league teams in the first round will be seeded.


Winner- K25 million
Runner up - K8 million
Semi finalists - K2 million
Quarter finilists - K1 million
Top goal scorer - K200,000
Best goal keeper - K200,000
Player of the tournament - K200,000.


The FDH Challenge Cup will be participated by 16 Super League and 62 Regional Leagues Premier Division teams (20 from the South, 24 from the Centre and 18 from the North).


The Cup will be played on knockout basis in the following phases:

Regional Leagues Preliminary: The Regional League teams will play in a regional championship in their respective regions to come up with 16 teams that will qualify for the national phase as follows:
·        South 6
·        Centre 6
·        North 4

National Phase: The 16 Regional League teams and the 16 Super League teams will go into the national draw from round of 32 all the way to final.

Top 8 teams as at the end of the 2020/2021 TNM Super League season first round will be seeded during the round of 32 draw.

Qualified Teams

South – Immigration, Nyasa BB Reserve, Sable Farming, White Eagles, Nyasa United, MDF Marine, Mangochi United, Max Steffords, The Boyz, Wanderers Reserve, Chinamwali Stars, Fomo, Polytechnic, Zomba Air Base, Neno Giants, Changalume Barracks, Bangwe All Stars, Blantyre City FC, Prison United, Wizards FC.

Centre: Ascent Academy, Airborne Rangers, Dwangwa United, Chitedze Strikers, Dedza Dynamos, Dedza Young Soccer, Extreme FC, Ekas Freight Wanderers, Green Rangers, Kasungu Police, Kawinga FC, Luanar FC, Ntcheu Strikers, Ngolowindo FC, Mbavi United, Mchinji Boma Strikers, Mitundu Strikers, Mtsiriza United, Ngolowindo FC, Silver Strikers Reserves, Gabriel Medicals, Simbi FC, Support Battalion, Wimbe United.
North : Chitipa Stars, Baka City, Chilumba Barracks, Ng'onga, Rumphi Mighty Wanderers, Rumphi United, Ekwendeni United, Ekwendeni Hardknockers ,Luwinga United,Bright Stars, Chintheche United,Kande FC, Chibwaka FC, Raiply FC, Favoured stars, KV FC, Manyamula, Embangweni

Super League Teams 

Seeded: (Not Yet determined as the first  round ends on May 15)

Silver Strikers, Nyasa Big Bullets, Civil Service F.C, Ekwendeni Hammers, Mafco F.C, Karonga United, Moyale, Red Lions, T N Stars, Be Forward Wanderers, Kamuzu Barracks, Ntopwa F.C, Blue Eagles, Chitipa United, Tigers F.C, Mzuzu Warriors F.C