Netball World Cup: Malawi draw England, Scotland, Barbados

Malawi netball

Malawi will face England Scotland  and Barbados in the group stages of the 2023 Netball World Cup, from July 28 to August 6.

Prior to the draw, the top eight teams - as per their world rankings - had already been seeded into their groups, with Australia and Tonga in Group A, England and Malawi in Group B, South Africa and Jamaica in Group C, and New Zealand and Uganda in Group D.

Scotland were the third side to join Group B alongside World No 3 side England as the 9th-12th ranked teams were drawn, with Barbados the final team added.

Hosts South Africa will take on Jamaica, Wales and Sri Lanka in Group C, while Zimbabwe and Fiji join Australia and Tonga in Group A.

In the fourth and final Group D, World Cup holders New Zealand will face off against Uganda, Trinidad and Tobago and Singapore as they look to retain their crown.

Netball World Cup 2023

Group A: Australia, Tonga, Zimbabwe, Fiji

Group B: England, Malawi, Scotland, Barbados

Group C: South Africa, Jamaica, Wales, Sri Lanka

Group D: New Zealand, Uganda, Trinidad and Tobago, Singapore

"It is very exciting to be at this stage of the competition, with all 16 teams confirmed," said Liz Nicholl CBE, President of World Netball.

"My congratulations to all the teams that vied for success in the qualifier tournaments.

"It was a joy to see the matches broadcast widely around the world, reaching new audiences, and giving our sport the visibility it deserves.

"It is Africa's time to shine."

Source: Skysports