6 league sides paired against each other in FDH Cup


Dedza Dynamos will host Silver Strikers, Rumphi United playing Blue Eagles, while Sable Farming will face Nyasa Big Bullets as the league sides that have been paired in the FDH Cup round of 32.

Sponsors FDH Bank and Football Association of Malawi (FAM) conducted the national draw at Mpira Village in Blantyre on Thursday with a total of 32 teams that have made it into the national phase. 

Half of the teams are from the regional leagues, while the rest are from the TNM Super League.

Northern and central region Leagues produced five teams each, while the South contributed six. 

From the the 16 Super League teams, eight that finished in the 2021 Super League top eight were seeded so that they do not play each other.

They are Bullets, Silver Strikers, Mighty Wanderers, Karonga United, Civo Service United, Mafco, Moyale and TN Stars.

FDH Head of Marketing, Levi Nkunika commended FAM for the smooth running of the Cup, saying they are happy with the level of  the competition.

"Our aim is to unearth talent, as we also provide entertainment to our customers. We still commit to giving K500, 000, match ball and a kit to each team that has qualified for the national stage," he said.

FAM general secretary, Alfred Gunda asked supporters to exercise discipline and provide support to the bank.

FDH Cup was launched last season, with Silver Strikers being crowned the inaugural champions.

They carted home K25 million as main prize, which has been maintained this season. 

Full Draw:

Dedza Dynamos Vs Silver Strikers

Sable Farming Vs Nyasa Big Bullets

Chitipa United Vs TN Stars

Civil Service United Vs Baka City

Mighty Mukuru Wanderers vs Kamuzu Barracks Reserves

Karonga United Vs Iponga FC

Moyale Barracks vs Ngwanje FC

Kawinga FC vs Chintheche United

Rumphi United vs Blue Eagles

Airborne Rangers Vs Ekwendeni Hammers

Kamuzu Barracks vs MDF Marine

Mighty Tigers Vs Nyasa Big Bullets Reserves

Red Lions Vs Zomba Airbase

Immigration vs Kadona Stars

Extreme FC vs The Boys.

Changalume/Prison United Vs Mafco

Round of 16:

Winner Match 5 vs Winner Match 8

Winner Match 16 vs Winner Match 15

Winner Match 12 vs Winner Match 1

Winner Match 7 vs Winner Match 3

Winner Match 11 vs Winner Match 10

Winner Match 9 vs Winner Match 4

Winner Match 14 vs Winner Match 13

Winner Match 6 vs Winner Match 2.

The draw for Quarterfinals will be done after the round of 16 while that of the Semifinals and final will be done after the Quarterfinal matches on the dates to be announced.