Kulinji Reporter

Tue, 10/11/2020 - 12:02

Voting in Lilongwe North West

Voting is underway in Lilongwe North West Constituency where six candidates are vying to occupy President Lazarus Chakwera's Parliamentary seat.

The contenders are; Mphatso Boti - Malawi Congress Party, Blessings Bokola – Democratic Progressive Party (DPP), Njelengo Cristopher Nolex – Mbakuwaku Movement for Democracy (MMD) and independent candidates Goodwell Ndiwo Banda, Bryson Majoni and Chimwemwe Kameta.

There were initially seven candidates but one independent candidate Deborah Mitawah withdrew from the race two weeks ago.

A  snap survey of six centres showed low turnout as of 10 am.

The centres visited included Malembo primary school, Sendwe, Pathungo, Mbandanga, Chazozoma and Kazumba.

 In an interview, Malawi Electoral Commission Commissioner Olivia Liwewe sounded optimistic.

"We have some substantial queues so it is a good start but hopefully we will see more people in the afternoon coming to vote and as MEC we would also like to urge people to maintain peace," said Liwewe.

Polling centres will close at 6 pm, thereafter results will be counted at each station and then sent to the District Commissioner for the tallying of the total votes for the constituency.

The by-election is being held following the resignation of legislator for the area Lazarus Chakwera before his election as President of Malawi on June 23.

Source: Josh Mphanda, MEC Stringer